You are viewing makeupreviewed

My Makeup Review - Favorite Animal-Friendly mascara? [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]
My _Makeup_ Reviews :The Community Make-up Blog

[ userinfo | livejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

Favorite Animal-Friendly mascara? [Mar. 20th, 2010|02:54 pm]
Previous Entry Share Next Entry

makeupreviewed

[elven_sphinx]
[Tags|]

I'm running 'really' low on my CG 'Lash Blast' mascara and recently discovered that CG does test on animals, unfortunately. So I'm sadly not going to be repurchasing mascara from CG.:(

Since I'm headed out to Walmart for grocery shopping later this evening, I'm going to try to pick up a new mascara.

What are your favorite drug-store brand mascaras and are they animal friendly?

I've read that Almay doesn't test on animals, but after having tried out an e/s trio that came with a mascara and liquid eyeliner and being unsatisfied with it, I'm a little hesitant to pick up anything more from them.

I'm wanting a good black mascara that makes my lashes look thicker and longer, doesn't clump or run, and is easily layerable and long-lasting.

Let me know you're thoughts, please!

Thanks!:)
LinkReply

Comments:
[User Picture]From: murflegirl
2010-03-20 09:31 pm (UTC)

(Link)

I don't think Hard Candy tests on animals. They do have a mascara called "Ginormous Lash" but I tried it and didn't like it much (I have weird lashes, though). They also have a few different mascaras.

There's also a Presige Cosmetics on the list for not testing on animals. I'm not entirely sure if that's the Prestige thats in the drugstores or not, but perhaps it is! My Biggest Lashes is a pretty good mascara by them. I just bought it yesterday and I'm pretty impressed.

I liked Almay's one-coat thickening mascara. Perhaps you could give it a try. Buy it from CVS or RiteAid and that way if you hate it you can bring it back. :)
[User Picture]From: elven_sphinx
2010-03-20 09:44 pm (UTC)

(Link)

I've tried two HardCandy mascaras so far...one was a light purple, which was supposed to be 'thickening', totally sucked and I returned it. The other is glitter mascara and it doesn't give off alot of glitter and what it does leave behind makes my lashes stiff and stick together. I'm keeping that one 'cause I like the glitter, but both have made me hesitant to pick up another HC mascara....though that's not really fair to them since I haven't tried out one of their regular black mascaras.

I'm familiar with Prestige, I have some liquid liners from that brand. I think I'd have to hit up a Rite Aid for Prestige though, can't say I've seen them anywhere else.

I may try the Almay mascara you mentioned. I've seen it WalMart and tend not to have a big problem with returning opened makeup there as long as I have my receipt.

I'm curious about this mascara I've seen there...it's either Neutrogena or Physician's Formula, but one end is black and the other end is a either blue, purple, or green. It's $8 to $10, though. But I've been wanting to try it out anyway.

I really wish CG didn't test on animals 'cause I ADORE the Lash Blast formula.

I thought I remembered seeing actress Drew Barrymore involved with either PETA or ASPCA some years back...if that's right then I'm surprised to see her as the spokesmodel for CG when they test on animals.

Thanks so much!:)
[User Picture]From: murflegirl
2010-03-20 11:23 pm (UTC)

(Link)

Yeah I thought that was interesting about Drew Barrymore too!
I think Hard Candy has a lengthening formula and a curling formula in addition to the 2 you mentioned. You could definitely give those a try.

Prestige = Rite Aid for sure. :)

The one you're curious about is Physician's Formula--doesn't look too interesting to me since I'm not too thrilled by many of their products.

Glad you liked Lash Blast--I hated it. It's everyone else's HG and it was just so underwhelming for me. Didn't work at all.

Keep us posted for sure!!
[User Picture]From: elven_sphinx
2010-03-21 05:17 pm (UTC)

(Link)

I looked it up lastnight and sure enough, Drew Barrymore used to be a member of PETA, went vegetarian and everything....but it didn't last long. Apparently she got bored and felt it wasn't any fun not to be able to wear the things she wanted to, especially since most of the designers she was having to turn away had leathers and furs in their clothing.

I lost a bit of respect for her over that. How passionate can you be about a subject when you change your mind 'cause you can't indulge in the fashions you want to, you know?

I don't mind her eating meat, I eat meat all the time, but when you're a member of PETA and getting up in front of the media and talking about animal cruelty, don't turn around and announce that you're bored and start being the spokesmodel for a company that tests on animals, you know?


I picked up a tube of the Physician's Formula mascara lastnight, I'll play around with it today and do some swatch photos and what not soon.

I've got some FotD's to post today and then at some point another Haul post, hopefully I'll get it all done today.

Yeah, I loved the Lash Blast, made my lashes look fantastic. But I can't in good conscience buy another tube now.:(

Thanks!:)
[User Picture]From: defyingstars
2010-03-21 04:33 pm (UTC)

(Link)

I assumed Cover Girl didn't test on animals because I didn't think Drew Barrymore would be a spokesperson for a company that did. For some reason I thought she was an animal rights person. This is what happens when I trust my brain.

I found a list of companies that don't test.
http://www.astrostar.com/DO-NOT-Test.htm

Unfortunately, I don't know of any good ones in particular at this time. Still looking for something in my budget.
[User Picture]From: elven_sphinx
2010-03-21 06:49 pm (UTC)

(Link)

I looked it up lastnight and sure enough, Drew Barrymore used to be a member of PETA, went vegetarian and everything....but it didn't last long. Apparently she got bored and felt it wasn't any fun not to be able to wear the things she wanted to, especially since most of the designers she was having to turn away had leathers and furs in their clothing.

I lost a bit of respect for her over that. How passionate can you be about a subject when you change your mind 'cause you can't indulge in the fashions you want to, you know?

I don't mind her eating meat, I eat meat all the time, but when you're a member of PETA and getting up in front of the media and talking about animal cruelty, don't turn around and announce that you're bored and start being the spokesmodel for a company that tests on animals, you know?


Thank you for the list of animal-cruelty free brands, I was excited to see that Revlon is on there but really disappointed that Maybelline and Rimmel weren't on there.

I'll let you all know what I can find. I'm all about the budget, too. Anything I pick up will be a drug store brand.

THanks!:)
[User Picture]From: starrkissed
2010-03-21 08:26 pm (UTC)

(Link)

I'm loving Loreal's new one. It's a bit pricey, but it's my favorite by far!!
I didn't know CG tested on animals. dammit!!
I'm going to stay away from that line, then.
[User Picture]From: elven_sphinx
2010-03-21 09:04 pm (UTC)

(Link)

Apparently, L'Oreal also tests on animals, unfortunately.:(
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080314144114AAHx9wP

I'm so disappointed in CG for this, I adore their Lash Blast mascara and quite a few of their eyeshadow singles, of which I own several. But now that I know this, I'll be boycotting their brand and L'Oreal's, too.

Thanks.:)
[User Picture]From: starrkissed
2010-03-21 10:39 pm (UTC)

(Link)

well crap. =[
i love loreal's hip duos too much to get rid of them. and this mascara.
and i found out that the eyeliner i love so much is CG.
i love animals, but i love makeup, too.
why can't they test on people?!!?! grrrr
[User Picture]From: elven_sphinx
2010-03-21 11:12 pm (UTC)

(Link)

I know, it really sucks. It's such a pain in the butt since drug store items are affordable and easy to find and yet I now can't buy any of it in good conscience.
I'm not tossing out anything I've already purchased, but I'm making it a point for myself not to purchase anything from these brands 'till I find they've stopped their animal testing.

The thing I don't get is that brands like MAC and Urban Decay don't test on animals and they don't have many problems with their chemicals and customers, so why do these other brands have to continue doing so, you know?
I doubt their chemicals are that different from eachother.

I'm with you, I love animals and I love makeup...there's a small part of me that wants to disregard the animal testing bit, but the bigger part of me wants to smack that smaller part. I have a kitty and I'd really hate to think of her being tested on, so she definitely digs at my conscience, too.
[User Picture]From: starrkissed
2010-03-22 01:58 am (UTC)

(Link)

Oh I know!! If the bigger department store brands can manage to put out a product without animal testing, then there's no excuse for the smaller brands.

I have kitties and a guinea pig, too. =[

I don't know, though.. it's wrong, but I think I'm going to just continue to buy, but I'm not going to go out of my way to buy, you know? Just the HIP shadows and my fave eyeliner and mascara. But continue to buy the higher end or drug store brands that do not support testing on animals.
[User Picture]From: elven_sphinx
2010-03-26 12:32 am (UTC)

(Link)

I kind of considered that, too....just buying my CG mascara, but the more I think of the horrible things done to animals just for vanity's sake, I can't do it. I just can't in good conscience buy even a tube of mascara while knowing that in some lab animals are suffering hell-on-earth so I can have awesome looking lashes that no one but me will really notice and fully appreciate.:/
So, I'm going to do my best to boycott these companies that do animal-testing and hope that they wise-up soon and stop this needless cruelty.

Thankfully my foundation is still safe as Revlon hasn't tested on animals since the early 90's. So now I'll be trying out more of their products in the up-coming future.:)

Thanks so much!:)
[User Picture]From: larasgirl
2010-03-21 10:51 pm (UTC)

(Link)

You'd think after all this time companies wouldn't have to test on animals, they would just know which chemicals or ingredients are bad for animals and humans. That's rediculous.

You've probably already gotten your new mascara, but have you tried the Maybelline Colossal mascaras? I really like the one in the bright yellow package (in glam black). It defines, lenghtens and adds volume. Even if I reapply later in the day, it doesn't clump.

I had a sample of Lancome Difiniciles (sp?) and it is one of the best mascaras I've ever used. Not sure how much a full size would cost though.

After saying all that, I just checked to see if they test on animals and both DO. Here's a link with companies that test on animals (don't know how up-to-date it is.) From what it says, we may have to stop using many of the household products we probably all use everyday.

http://www.astrostar.com/DO-Test.htm
[User Picture]From: elven_sphinx
2010-03-22 03:46 am (UTC)

(Link)

I know, especially with our technological advancements in regards to computers and DNA testing, etc. I don't see why they can't just test their chemicals within known-parameters against mock-ups of a human's chemical make-up (if you will), to see what would create negative/adverse side-effects. I don't see why they need to test this stuff on animals, especially when you've got such High-End companies such as MAC and Urban Decay (to name a couple) who don't test on animals and have very little to no problems with their products.

I ended up picking up the 'Shimmer Strips' duo mascara in purple by Physician's Formula. I'm wearing it right now and took photos of the black vs. the purple over the black, which I'll be posting soon.
I haven't developed an opinion on this stuff yet, but I'm already really missing my CG 'Lash Blast' mascara. Thankfully it's still got some uses left in it, but it's already starting to dry out and flake on me, unfortunately.:(

According to my google search, Maybelline also tests on animals, so I'm glad I didn't pick up any of those -though I did look them over.

I wish that writing letters to these companies and telling them that you're boycotting them because they test on animals would actually make a difference.
I hate not being able to buy from any of the top drug-store brands because of their animal testing, but then what you're left with is either not very good quality products and/or too expensive.

As far as house-hold products go, I'm starting to consider my deordrant, shampoo, body wash, etc.
Though, I think my shampoo (Tresemme) says on the back that's it's animal cruelty-free.

Thanks!:)
[User Picture]From: murflegirl
2010-03-22 06:22 pm (UTC)

(Link)

Ok, I revisited Prestige's My Biggest Lashes and it does everything for me that Lash Blast would not. And they don't test on animals. I encourage you to visit a Rite Aid or CVS or Walgreens and check them out--I have never been so impressed with a drugstore mascara in my LIFE and that's saying a LOT.
[User Picture]From: elven_sphinx
2010-03-26 12:27 am (UTC)

(Link)

I was turned off of Prestige's shadows after I had bought some shadow called "Blossom" or something like that, but I'm definitely open to trying another one or two out soon. I'll just have to see about a detour into one of the drugstores you mentioned above soon.:)

Thanks!:)
[User Picture]From: barbie_arielle
2010-03-30 02:16 pm (UTC)

(Link)

I, personally, love Mary Kay's ultimate mascara. And I've loved it ever since I tried it... long before I became a beauty consultant for them.
[User Picture]From: titaniabelle
2010-05-10 12:36 am (UTC)

(Link)

Bare Escentuals Buxom mascara is really amazing but it's a little pricier than drugstore brands. It gives good volume and defines lashes pretty well.