You are viewing makeupreviewed

My Makeup Review - MAC Dupes and Swatches II [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]
My _Makeup_ Reviews :The Community Make-up Blog

[ userinfo | livejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

MAC Dupes and Swatches II [Oct. 26th, 2009|07:47 pm]
Previous Entry Add to Memories Share Next Entry

makeupreviewed

[elven_sphinx]
[Tags|, ]

This took me quite a while...I swatched everything, took photos of the swatches and the products, then edited, and now here I am posting. Altogether this has taken over 3 hours. ACK!

I'm going to start this out by linking you to two threads on Specktra.net where dupes for various MAC shadows are listed:
http://www.specktra.net/forum/f188/eye-shadow-dupes-135012/
http://www.specktra.net/forum/f267/nyx-has-mac-dupes-what-they-64116/

*Let me preface this by saying... that I took my cue from the list of dupes in the two afore-mentioned links and swatched what they mentioned. I do not agree with every dupe-pairing mentioned, but I wanted to illustrate what was mentioned and compare a few other dupes I've heard mentioned.
-Clearly a couple of these dupes aren't 'really' good dupes, afterall.
Also, some of the swatches aren't dupes so much as just swatches.*

Lot's of photos below the cut, largest being at 600x something smaller....
I won't have a lot of text in here since I labeled a good deal of these photos, anyway:




These are all swatched dry over bare skin, unless otherwise noted:

No flash:















-these are both exact dupes for MAC's "Trax" e/s:






Top left:

*MAC "Blue Flame" e/s
*MAC "Deep Truth"
*NYX "Atlantic"
*MAC "Freshwater"
*NYX "Morocco"
*MAC "Contrast"
*NYX "Lake Moss" trio (blue)




-for some reason "Contrast" came out really gray in this photo, but in person it's really a dark blue/violet with a hint of steel gray.



The following aren't really dupes, just swatches:



















-the purple on the very far right end, "Prune".
*I posted NYX "Prune" and UD "Purple Haze" as dupe swatches.


NYX "Lake Moss" e/s trio vs. my MAC 'Style Black' MES trio:









These are dry and wet swatchings:



*The first strip is a combo., the middle is dry, the last is wet:

1. NYX "Lake Moss" purple (dry)
2. MAC "Young Punk" MES over (dry)
3. MAC "Young Punk" MES over (wet)


1. NYX "Lake Moss" blue (dry)
2. MAC "Blue Flame" MES over (dry)
3. MAC "Blue Flame" MES over (wet)


1. NYX "Lake Moss" gold (dry)
2. MAC "Gilt by Association" MES over (dry)
3. MAC "Gilt by Association" MES over (wet)





Please let me know what you think.:)
LinkReply

Comments:
[User Picture]From: xveinsofglassx
2009-10-27 12:36 am (UTC)

(Link)

Thank you for posting this! I've been planning on getting some nyx & this definitely helped me decide on a couple.
[User Picture]From: elven_sphinx
2009-10-27 12:41 am (UTC)

(Link)

No problem and thank you for taking the time to look through it.:)

If you check back in the tags section I've got some more dupes/swatches that might interest you.:)
[User Picture]From: dreambastion
2009-10-27 02:14 am (UTC)

(Link)

Awesome!!

Its funny, because in your pic of Beauty Marked I can see that it is a red/black color, which is the description that the MAC site has - but the MAC picture just looks purple, not at all red/black.

This is why its good to see real pics and swatches :D
[User Picture]From: elven_sphinx
2009-10-29 07:49 am (UTC)

(Link)

I agree, it seems like alot of MAC's 'swatch' or product photos for color are totally off. There's only so much you can do when it comes to editing colors onto the same image though, I suppose.

Whenever I'm curious about a color, be it a lipstick or eyeshadow, etc. -I google all sorts of swatches in the hopes of finding an accurate photo.
-That gets annoying, especially when maybe you want to see a photo of the actual product but all you're seeing is a swatch. So I'm trying to remedy that by posting both.:D

Glad you like!:D
[User Picture]From: kylana
2009-10-27 05:47 am (UTC)

(Link)

Ha, adding "Rust" and "Sparkling Wine" to my list of e/s to get soon-ish. I might need to get some of those purples too -- see how you're rubbing off on me?! >:P
[User Picture]From: elven_sphinx
2009-10-29 07:50 am (UTC)

(Link)

"Rust" is absolutely gorgeous, I think you'll really like it.:) I'm not terribly crazy with the "Sparkling Wine", myself...but I'm determined to try to make it work.

Hey, lots of other people rubbed off on me with their makeup collections and FOTD's, time to give back, ya know? ;D
[User Picture]From: kylana
2009-10-29 08:41 pm (UTC)

(Link)

What is it you don't like about Sparkling Wine? I haven't used any Maybelline e/s before so I don't have a basis for comparison.

Fine, be that way! :P
[User Picture]From: elven_sphinx
2009-10-29 09:52 pm (UTC)

(Link)

Maybelline has really good quality e/s's -I highly recommend getting some. Especially the "Urban Brown" shadow -gorgeous!

The Sparkling Wine shade turns me off because it's got this weird pink/purple look that comes off as matte to me but with quite a bit of coppery glitter.
-It's hard to describe, but I'm just not a huge fan of the color. It's nothing to do with Maybelline, MAC's "Trax" and Lancome's "Metallic" are the same exact color and I don't care for any of them. In fact, earlier this month I swapped out my MAC "Trax" e/s.

Here's a post where I did a swatching of the color on my fingertips, so you can get a better idea of the color: http://community.livejournal.com/makeupreviewed/85422.html#cutid1

I'm not saying it's a bad color, it's just not for me.:/

Hope this helps!:)
[User Picture]From: kylana
2009-10-29 10:41 pm (UTC)

(Link)

Fair enough, I'm glad to hear their e/s's are worth getting. I'll add this color to my "buy when on sale" list. I never thought I'd be a fan of any shimmer or sparkle (although I LOVE shiny things! Seriously, I'm like a raccoon :P) but I find myself really drawn to them now.

It does, thanks! :)
[User Picture]From: elven_sphinx
2009-10-29 11:29 pm (UTC)

(Link)

I've also got a nice sparkly black by Maybelline called "Night Sky", I think and it's really nice, too. I just don't wear blacks all that often..though, I'm wanting to start incorporating them more soon.:)

Shiny/shimmer/pearl shadows are my favorites.:D I've been looking more into some mattes recently, but the shiny will always be my go-to.:D

Glad I could help!
From: emerald_faun
2009-10-27 02:52 pm (UTC)

(Link)

Holy crap..

Look at all the Pretty!

*adds to the endless list of lusty want*
[User Picture]From: elven_sphinx
2009-10-29 07:51 am (UTC)

(Link)

*laughs* I know what you mean, I've got a running list going on, too. ;D