?

Log in

No account? Create an account
My Makeup Review [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]
My _Makeup_ Reviews :The Community Make-up Blog

[ userinfo | livejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

Fantasy Butterfly/Fairy Makeup [Jun. 28th, 2015|09:53 am]
My _Makeup_ Reviews :The Community Make-up Blog

elven_sphinx
[Tags|, , , , ]

This is my last post in here for a little while, at least for now....

I recently was playing around with my makeup while trying to think up something interesting to do for a Faery-makeup look in the future and came up with this.

The first time I did this nearly two weeks ago now, I only did half of my face...and it was really pretty and turned out great. So I tried this again this past week but then did the full-face...didn't turn out quite as I'd originally wanted it to, but it kinda went it's own way and turned out great, regardless.   Each time I absolutely hated to remove these.

As usual, still having to use my crappy cell phone cam to take these pics...  I will be redoing this look once I'm able to use my actual camera again.  But in the mean-time, did the best I could with focus and lighting.

IMG_20150625_140520-1.jpg
A touch of Faery Glamour...Collapse )
Link2Glamours|Glam me up!

Eyeshadow Bases and storage [Jun. 28th, 2015|08:38 am]
My _Makeup_ Reviews :The Community Make-up Blog

elven_sphinx
[Tags|, , , ]

I LOVE using colored bases under my eyeshadows.  Eyeshadows look pretty on their own over a primer but I feel like they look EVEN BETTER over a colored base...be it a same color base or a different colored base, it's fun to see how the difference in colors and textures/formulas mix and interact with eachother.

IMG_20150607_180332.jpg
Drawers of color!! Click me!!Collapse )
LinkGlam me up!

Eyeshadow Swatches, UD, Stila, Too Faced, Color Pop, etc. [Jun. 28th, 2015|07:25 am]
My _Makeup_ Reviews :The Community Make-up Blog

elven_sphinx
[Tags|, , , , ]

I was playing around with some makeup and decided to do swatches of some of the shadows I'd purchased in the past year and very recently. This time I decided to go outside and get the full impact of the sun on the swatches and one in the shade, for contrast.

Lots of higher-end brands here...


IMG_20150614_175336-1.jpg
Want to get swatched? You know what to do!Collapse )
LinkGlam me up!

Transition eyeshadows and some color theory... [Jun. 11th, 2015|01:06 am]
My _Makeup_ Reviews :The Community Make-up Blog

elven_sphinx
[Tags|]

So, I've been into makeup since at least early high school...dabbling here and there 'till I hit 18 and actually started adding more colors to my daily look, which consisted of the small Maybelline pastels palette I had been using from my mom's makeup drawer, some mascara, and some CoverGirl fdtn powder.  That was a long time ago as I'm now 32 yrs. old.
  -Back around 2009 I really started getting into some serious makeup, learning to contour and highlight, finally groomed my shaggy brows, found out about these amazing products called primers and bases, and started to really up my eyeshadow game with cleaner applications and better blending.   I was trying out products from high-end brands that I'd never known existed before 'cause all I'd ever know was drug store products.
-My mom was never really into anything more than her basic liquid foundation, some blush, one eyeshadow on the lid, and mascara, with some lipstick. That was IT.   And I being the eldest of 2 girls and 2 boys...well, there was no one else to teach me about makeup. I had to pioneer my way into it alone via a lot of trial and error, and lots of time spent watching youtube tutorials.

With that all said, and the addition of having been reading beauty blogs and watching numerous makeup 'gurus' on youtube for the past roughly 5yrs., only very recently have I started to hear about this technique of using 'transition shadows' in your eye-makeup routine.
-I don't know if this is a new technique or just a newly re-discovered technique, but it's become a pretty popular trend worth trying out. :)

Keep on reading under here!Collapse )
LinkGlam me up!

Makeup Organization... [Jun. 8th, 2015|11:21 pm]
My _Makeup_ Reviews :The Community Make-up Blog

elven_sphinx
[Tags|, ]
[Current Music |watching Criminal Minds in the background...]

I've been storing my makeup under the sink, in our tiny bathroom in my current apt, and it's been getting very cluttered and packed full...so, in an effort to not only clean up the space under the sink but also to create more storage, I bought this 3-drawer rubbermaid container.  Unfortunately, it's too large to fit under the sink and it's not a strong enough plastic for the weight of all of that makeup...so at some point I'll be returning it in hopes of finding something better.

IMG_20150607_180709.jpg
What's in the box???Collapse )
Link7Glamours|Glam me up!

High-end to low-end comparison swatches [Jun. 7th, 2015|08:15 pm]
My _Makeup_ Reviews :The Community Make-up Blog

elven_sphinx
[Tags|, , , , , , ]
[Current Location |Recliner looking outside]
[Current Mood |accomplishedaccomplished]
[Current Music |none...the a/c noise in the background]

As I've mentioned in one of my more recent posts, back in Dec. I had decided to purchase the "Love Sick" eyeshadow stack by MELT Cosmetics, and as my review on it mentioned, I noticed that 2 of the 4 shades were dupeable with drugstore shadows.     So since I mentioned that in my review, I thought I'd actually take some pics to show what I was talking about. And then I remembered that I've also got 2 shades which are dupes for MAC's "Blue-Brown" pigment and have been meaning to do swatches of those, too.

Now, as a precursory warning, right now I'm not able to use my nice Nikon camera for all of these swatches... as I've stated before, my own computer hasn't been working for a while and I'm on my boyfriend's old laptop, so am not able to upload from my camera to his computer...    with that said, I am, instead, having to use my android phone's crappy camera and natural light from outside to take all of these photos. They 'are' blurry, but still pretty true-to-life regarding the color.  Best I can do right now. :/

Cause these are shorter, I'm first gonna start with the MAC "Blue-Brown" pigment dupes...
IMG_20150607_170659.jpg
You know what do for those swatches! :DCollapse )

And next up, the MELT Cosmetics "Love Sick" eyeshadow stack dupes:


IMG_20150523_023118.jpg
Swatches are MELTing, melting!!!!Collapse )

And, lastly, the golden-apricot comparison...
-This last swatching compares a drug-store shadow, an ULTA shadow, and a MAC pigment alongside MELT's "Amelie" shadow:

*the second shadow from the top on the right is the Maybelline shadow...depotted into a large palette.


IMG_20150607_170219.jpg
Golden-apricot...is that a thing?Collapse )

/End.
LinkGlam me up!

Maybelline's "The Blushed Nudes" palette quick review [May. 25th, 2015|05:53 am]
My _Makeup_ Reviews :The Community Make-up Blog

elven_sphinx
[Tags|]

I recently purchased this palette after watching various reviews and tutorials on youtube and taking a good long look at it in the store. I thought that with so many shades it would be worth my $10, especially as lately I've been into pink shades...mainly mauves and dusty pinks.

I finally got around to trying it out yesterday and came away woefully disappointed. 

If you've seen any of my photos, you already know that I am a fair-skinned dark blonde. And with fair skin, a lot of colors work for me and have pretty good pigmentation.   Not these.       I pulled out my MAC "Painterly" paint pot as the primer (as I have oily lids) and then used Maybelline's "Nude Pink" Color Tattoo cream shadow as the base.
-the dusty pink matte shade you see 3rd from the left on the top row in the photo above... couldn't even see it on my lids. And I used two different brushes and two different techniques of applying it...nothing mattered.     The shimmer shadows to the right of that pink are SOO frikkin' light I could barely see a sheen from them 'till I tried applying them wet. Then I saw something.

I haven't tried any of the bottom row with the darker shades aside from that very last dark one on the far right. It's pigmented and has a gorgeous glitter shimmer to it, but the glitter seems to fade away to Neverland somehow as you blend the shadow into your lid. Applied wet gets a better result.

I really want to like this palette.  I've been drooling over Urban Decay's Naked 3 palette with it's gorgeous pinks and rose gold shades, but I just can't justify $50 on a single palette right now.  This seemed like an affordable dupe-option for me.        Next I'll be trying out Coastal Scent's Exposed palette which looks to be a good dupe for this.

I did end up creating a look using this palette...but a lot of the shadows used weren't even from this palette and only ended up covering what little application I got from it.     And I still wasn't terribly thrilled with it, though I did get a compliment when my guy and I went out for lunch. So that was something...

I was very tempted to just throw in the towel and return this palette after my disappointing experience with it yesterday, but I'm going to keep trying to make it work.   I want to try Maybelline's "Inked in Pink" Color Tattoo base, as well as NYX's "Milk" shadow pencil.  See what I can use to bump up the colors.    

But right now... really disappointed.  Had I known then what I know now about it, I would have saved my $10...but since I've already bought it, gonna try a little longer before totally giving up.


-Just my brief 2 cents...  if anything changes for the better, I'll update with my results...but 'till then, I'd save my money on this one.


Edit: 6/06/15...
I ended up just returning it. I didn't try to make it work over other bases, especially a white one...I just didn't feel it was worth all that effort, afterall.    I would 'not' recommend this to anyone with pale skin nor would I repurchase. I honestly feel like this palette is comparable to a young girl's or kid's play makeup palette...though, I think one of those kid's makeup sets would give MUCH better pigmentation than this $10 Maybelline palette did.

Fail.
Link5Glamours|Glam me up!

Year-long haul with reviews! [May. 23rd, 2015|09:35 am]
My _Makeup_ Reviews :The Community Make-up Blog

elven_sphinx
[Tags|, , ]
[Current Location |still in the recliner]
[Current Mood |accomplishedaccomplished]
[Current Music |MS MR "Time of my Life" / Florence + the Machine "Breath of Life"]

As my header states, this post is pretty much everything I've purchased this year so far, as far as cosmetics go...and as I just covered my brushes in my last post, I won't be including those here.

As a forewarning...these are all pics taken with my crappy cell phone camera. I was holding a small LED flashlight in my left hand, or sometimes with my mouth (LOL!), while taking the pics with my right.  So please do excuse the crappy lighting and photo-quality. 

I've left out a small item here and there, but otherwise...this is pretty much all of it:

First up, #86 by Inglot. LOVE this pigment and I have been jonesing for this one for several years now. I first saw someone using it over on either Specktra or the MAC_Cosmetics comm and fell in love with it. I finally got around to ordering it!!! I haven't used it a ton, so far, but I adore the color-shifting duo-chrome, nay..'multi-chrome' qualities of it.  Shifts from metallic copper to pink to yellow/gold and even green...with some hints of purple, too.   This is a gorgeous pigment and I love it applied wet, which I feel is best. A little certainly goes a long way with this one!!

IMG_20150523_025248.jpgIMG_20150523_025231-1.jpg

Sooo many pics below!!Collapse )
Link7Glamours|Glam me up!

Brushes Brushes everywhere!!! [May. 23rd, 2015|06:10 am]
My _Makeup_ Reviews :The Community Make-up Blog

elven_sphinx
[Tags|, , ]
[Current Location |my recliner]
[Current Mood |Reflective]
[Current Music |Phildel "Beside You"]

Admittedly, I went a little mad for makeup brushes, lol!!   At some point shortly after Christmas, I started ordering makeup brush rolls off of ebay...the first one I think was for only 12 brushes and it came with some cheapo brushes,  too.   At that point, the smaller size wasn't a big deal as I didn't have a ton of brushes, anyway....but then I started ordering individual brushes off of ebay and then one thing led to another and I needed a better and bigger brush roll...so then I ended up ordering a 32 brush roll off of ebay for about $15. Really good deal and there were some decent brushes included with the roll.
The roll is great for easy and compact storage, but as you can see in the last post I just did...my current "vanity set-up" is a bit too small/narrow to fully unroll that brush roll.
Lol, and now I've quickly outgrown even the 32 brush roll... ha ha!! I need more space to spread out!!!

And then about a month or so ago, I decided to give Crownbrush.com a try.  I put in an order for 11 different eye-brushes which came to right around $40 with shipping and handling included.  Crownbrush has a $25 min order...so I made it worth it for me. :D     I'm not going to go through 'right now' and do a review on each brush I purchased, but if anyone is interested, I can post the list of the brushes I ordered and brief reviews on my faves.
-With that all said, I had one brush arrive that was faulty....it's a synthetic black hair domed crease brush.  It had a lot of black dye come out when I washed it for the first time and kept shedding. Well, I contacted Crownbrush about this issue and they sent me out a new one immediately for free with no further questions asked. AWESOME!!     The 2nd one has also had a lot of dye wash out on the first wash, but no shedding that I could see.
I intentionally ordered a bunch of cheaper priced brushes so I could get more, but I was also still being very picky about which brushes I wanted... I ended up ordering several pencil brushes as I didn't really have any in collection, yet.   VERY pleased with those!!

IMG_20150523_030042.jpg
You know the drill, for more awesome pics, go below!!Collapse )
LinkGlam me up!

Makeup Brushes Reviewed [Jan. 22nd, 2015|10:44 am]
My _Makeup_ Reviews :The Community Make-up Blog

elven_sphinx
[Tags|, ]

Jessup brushes

Been a while since my last post... I've moved, again. I'm now in KY and in a MUCH smaller apt. I've got the majority of my makeup spread out between a box in my livingroom and what I can fit under the small sink in the bathroom.
-I hate storing my makeup in the bathroom due to risking my makeup going bad faster from the heat and moisture of the shower, but don't have a lot of options right now. :/

I'm also in a new relationship with an old boyfriend from high school...kinda picking back up where we left off 15 years ago. :D So, been wearing makeup a bit more often, even though he keeps telling me that I don't need it and he thinks I look beautiful without it. I still enjoy putting it on and seeing what I can do with it. :)

And so, I've started feeling really unimpressed with my old makeup brushes. After one of my cats chewed up my favorite eyeshadow brush a couple of years ago, I just haven't been as happy with anything else. And it was a no-name brush I picked up from a Big Lots several years ago, so not exactly easy to hunt another one down.

For Christmas I got a couple VISA gift cards from family and decided to finally try to improve my brush collection.
-I don't want to spend a lot on ONE brush, but quality is still something important to me. So, after several hours spent digging around the internet and Instagram, looking at various brushes and brands, and being very unimpressed with their prices. I hit up ebay. JACKPOT!!! I found a lot of pretty good looking brushes for $3 and under with FREE shipping and handling from China/Hong Kong. Not the most ideal, but works for me and my budget in the here and now. :D
I went in with specific types of brushes in mind, mainly certain tapered shapes and the hair types. I knew what I was looking for and was working with a small budget.

I've already received several of the brushes I'd ordered but am still waiting on the rest.
In case anyone is interested in ordering these, too, I'll share the auction listing under each pic.
-These are all stock pics from the ebay listings.
My own computer isn't working at the moment, so I can't upload any of my pics to share 'till I can get it fixed. But each of these brushes looks exactly as shown in the listing, unless otherwise specified.

For photos, click here.Collapse )
Link3Glamours|Glam me up!

navigation
[ viewing | most recent entries ]
[ go | earlier ]